IAGenWeb logo

This page was last

updated on 10/02/2011

Delaware County, Iowa  

 School Directory


Schools in Delaware County


School Additional Information
Alleghany School Richland, was west of Dundee
Almoral Independent School in Oneida was by Martin Diesh Farm, section. 11
Anna Stead Lower Buck Creek School Union Twp., south of the former Buck Creek
Arens School Bremen Twp., section 14 SE part
Bay or Upper Bay School was Milo #3, in section 35
Belknap School was Milo #7, section 32 NE; now part of the Historical Museum in Hopkinton
Bell School North Fork District #8, also called Cooksley and Tegelar school, section 9 NE corner
Billhorn also called Parker School, on highway 13; section 20 NW
Bockenstedt School Bremen Twp., section 12
Brick School was Colony District #3, also called Merton school in section 8
Brick School was Delhi District #2, see Delaware County History, Schools
Brooks School was South Fork School #6, section 8
Brush Hill School mile or two west of Hopkinton, section 14; was Union #7
Burhans School was Prairie #1, section 11
Burr Oak School was Delhi District #7, section 13 south
Butterfield School Richland Twp, Upper Northeast corner in section 11, was on Butterfield farm
Campton School north of MasonvilleRichland Twp., on w side of section 19, close to Campton P. O.
Carrothers School was Prairie #4 at Silver Creek
Center School was Hazel Green District #5, section 22
Clark School was 3 miles from Delhi, section 14 Northwest
Coffins Grove School Coffins Grove District #6, was in section 26 NW corner
Cooksley School District #8; called Bell, and Tegelar school, section #9 NE, North Fork Twp.
Cooper School Elk Twp., Oak Grove district #8; was last Oak Grove school; also called Poltney or Poultney
Copperhead School Milo #8, south of Bailey's Ford, also called McKay
Daker School Section 32 NW
Dixie School somewhere in Delaware Co., Info sent by Fred Kinne of St. Charles, Mo. 1999
Ehler School was Adams District #1
Evans School was Coffins Grove District #9, section 16 South
Fairplay School was in Richland Twp., close to the Clifton Legg farm, section 30, 31 or 32
Fangman School was Bremen district #8, was called Willenbring school in section 27 NW corner
First School was Delhi, Sub-district No.4, Summer of 1846
Forrestville School was just west of the cemetery section 15-16, Richland Twp.
Green School was Hazel Green #6
Grove Creek School was sec. 33, Union 5, north of Jones/Linn county line 3/4 mile
Harris School was in Elk Township
Hoeger School was Bremen District #7, before it was called
Honey Creek School District #1, was 2 1/2 miles southeast of Edgewood, section 24 NW
Hoosier Point School was Delhi district #2, section 5
Hunt School was Bremen #9, called Thomas Cousins & later Hunt, between section 30 and 31
Iben School Prairie district #5, section 25 SW corner
Independent School #2 Built 1852; teachers were Orlando Nash and Sarah Davis, used until 25 Jul 1868, was in Delhi
Independent School was in Delhi Twp. Old Log Court house, Summer of 1846 until the 1st school house built in 1852
Jurgens School South Fork #8, was 5 miles north of Sand Springs section 9 NE
Kennedy  School Springvale, Sunnyside school, section 2 SE in Elk on highway 3
Kenny/Kinny was Milo #4, was just south of Manchester in section 5
Lebo School was in North Fork section 21 NE, District 6
Little York School was in Honey Creek
Long School was north of Delaware on highway 38, section 20 District #4
Maple Grove School was Prairie #8, south of Ed Lyness farm, section 27
McGee School was in Coffin Grove district #1, on register of historic places, section 23 SW
McKay School Milo #8, was later called Copperhead school
Melven School Elk Twp., section 34 West side
Mensen School Colony Twp., was 3 miles NE of Petersburg, section 28 east
Merton School was Colony district #3, was also called Brick school, in section 11 NW
Moss Hill School was Union #8, in River Valley area on a hill top, section 11NW
Mt. Hope School was Coffin Grove district #2 section 11south
Nachtmann School was Bremen #4 in section 20 Northwest
Old Grove School was in Elk Twp., district #8 called Poltney school Elk section 13 NE
Old Fitch School was Honey Creek district #7, replaced the Yellow School SW of Greeley
Orr School was Hazel Green district #9, section 25
Parker School or Billhorn School was Honey Creek district #4, 9 miles N of Manchester on 13
Penney School was just west of Greeley
Pleasant Grove School was in Elk Township
Pleasant Hill School and church was Adams district
Pleasant Hill School was Delaware district #5 N of Manchester, section 8 NW on curve, a home 
Pleasant Hill School was in Richland Township
Pleasant Valley School was Delhi district #6, in section 26 west
Pleasant Valley School was in Colony, section 30 east
Pleasant Valley School in Richland Township, section 13 south central
Plum Creek School was North Fork and was 7 miles southeast of Earlville
Poltney/Poutlney or Cooper School was Elk District #8 before called Oak Grove
Portable School was Milo district #6, on the Harl Hamblin farm
Raymond Joseph School was South Fork #5 in section 17
Rector School was Oneida District #2 by the Bob Weigel farm section 4
Ridgeville Independent School was Elk township section 35, also called Wulfekuhle School
Robinson School was in Adams Section 17 SW corner called Adams #2
Rock Prairie School was Delaware district #3 in section 23 center
Rocky Nook School was Delhi district #8 in section 32 NW
Schneiders School was Bremen District #7 later Weber School, section 26
Sheldon School was in Richland Township
Silver Creek School was Adams #3 in section 7 East
Spring Branch School was in Delaware district #1 section 35
Springvale School was in Elk section 16
Steinkoff School was in Hazel Green section 18 SE or 19 NE and was district #4
Sunnyside a rock school in Elk township section 2 SE also called Lindsay
Stony Point School was Delhi district #5 un section 23 center
Sunnyside School or Lindsay School Lindsay School was Elk District #2 section 2 SE made of stone
Tegeler School was in North Fork
The Little Red School NW of Manchester on the Oneida blacktop, is on the historic register
Thomas Cousins School later called Hunt School Bremen District #9 between section 30 and 31
Todd School was Milo #9
Tower Hill School was Milo #3 in section 35
Upper Bay or Bay School was Milo #3, in section 35
Weber School was Bremen #7; was first called Schneiders School in Section 26
Westermeier School was in Bremen Township, section 16
White Oak School was Colony District #1 in section 6 of Colony township
White School or Old Fitch School was Honey Creek #7 or maybe the Yellow school SW of Greeley
Willenbring was first the Fangman school, Breman #8 section 27 northwest corner