The Crawford County, Iowa, IAGenWeb Project

1870 U.S. Census

Crawford County, Iowa

Crawford County consisted of 7 organized townships in 1870: Boyer, Charter Oak, Denison, East Boyer, Jackson, Milford, and Union. The two organized towns included in the census were Denison and Deloit.
Blue Folder History of Township establishment in Crawford County. Blue Folder Index of Surnames on the 1870 Census

Boyer Township Charter Oak Township Deloit Village
Denison Town Denison Township
East Boyer Township Jackson Township
Milford Township
Union Township


These census transcriptions are the transcriber's and proofreader's interpretation and subject to human error. Always refer to the original document (or a copy of the original) for your own interpretation.

The following is the key to column contents on each of the census pages.

Back to Top

Volunteers who assisted in the transcription and proofreading. Our many thanks.
Darleen BerensRose Ann Thomas
Paula CurcioKarla Lewis
Joleen StelterCandee Lebrun
Jean Albrecht 

Back to Top

Population data for Crawford County in 1870
Total Population 2530
Foreign Born 560
Males 1387
Females 1143
Males 5-18 years of age 419
Females 5-18 years of age 394
One or both parents foreign born 994
Number attending school 672
Number over age 10 who cannot read 45
Number over age 21 who cannot write84
Number attending school672
Source: Univ. of Virginia Library Historical Census Browser
Back to Top
Back to Census Contents page

Back to Crawford Co. Database

Back to Crawford Co. Homepage

Copyright ©2014 by the Crawford County, Iowa, IAGenWeb Project and Contributors.