IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.
updated 03/14/2020



The National Woman's Relief Corps was organized at Denver, Colorado, July 26, 1883, as auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Republic. It remains to this day a patriotic organization dedicated to preserving the memories & records of the G.A.R. They provide assistance to veterans of all wars, their widows and orphans.

Extracted from a "Brief Sketch of the WRC" by Kate Sherwood, secretary of the organizing convention, July 26, 1883:

The work of American women in the great war for the preservation of the Union was that of relief. Relief on the battle field and in the hospitals ... in homes .... of the wives and children of the soldiers at the front ..... for the widows and orphans
~Source: Womans Relief Corps website (read more by clicking the History tab)


Clayton county W.R.C.

Harvey Dix Corps, No. 69, McGregor
Organized April 28, 1886

Henry Howard Corps, No. 89, Strawberry Point
Organized November 17, 1886

Hiram Steele Corps, No. 258, Edgewood
Organized August 27, 1892

~Source: History Department of Iowa; Woman's Relief Corps, Auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Republic 1884-1934; compiled by Emma B. Robinson, 1933 historian
~Contributed by Roseanna Zehner



Monona: The following W.R.C. officers were installed Jan. 14th, 1910:
President - Parma Wilson
S.V. Pres. - Clara Curtis
J.V. Pres. - Phoebe Hopkins
Secretary - Lizzie Russell
Treas. - Nellie Olmstead
Chaplain - Martha Smith
Pat Inst. - Amanda Renshaw
Press Correspondent - Kate Otis
Conductor - Minnie Sebastian
Guardian - Sarah Nelings
Asst. Conductor - Jennie Walker
Asst. Guard - Maude Thomas
C.B. No. 1 - Sarah Gilbert
C.B. No. 2 - Julia Howard
C.B. No. 3 - Lena Wellman
C.B. No. 4 - Esther Davis
Musician - Addie Egbert
Installing Officer - Elizabeth Cassday
~Elkader Register & Argus, Thur., 27 Jan. 1910. Monona column
~Contributed by Reid R. Johnson



Strawberry Point: The W.R.C. installed the following 1932 officers Tuesday evening, Jan. 12:
President - Mrs. Leta Mitchell
Junior Vice President - Mrs. Mae Brockmeyer
Secretary - Miss Josephine Thyne
Treasurer - Mrs. Florence Courtnage
Chaplain - Mrs. Nettie Oldfather
Conductor - Miss Mayme Alderson
Asst. Conductor - Mrs. Adah Nichols
Guard - Mrs. Lillian Lyons
Asst. Guard - Mrs. Velma Berger
Patriotic Instructor - Mrs. Irene Bowman
Color Bearer No. 1 - Mrs. Irene Quinlan
Color Bearer No. 2 - Mrs. Arlene Opperman
Color Bearer No. 3 - Mrs. Anna Preston
Color Bearer No. 4 - Mrs. Gertrude Fenchel
Musician - Mrs. Clara Steward
~Clayton County Register, Thur., January 21, 1932
~Contributed by Reid R. Johnson


Return to Clayton co. Military index