IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.
updated 12/13/2019

Luana & Monona
Camps, Lodges, social societies & organizations

Unless otherwise credited the following items were contributed by Reid R. Johnson for Clayton co. IAGenWeb


Monona I.O.O.F.
Last Saturday evening, July 14th Marvin Cook, D.D.G.M., installed the following officers of Northern Light lodge, No. 15, I.O.O.F. of this place: 
N.G. - R. W. Randall
V.G. - W. R. Brown
Sect'y - J. R. Bowers
Treas. - E. S. Rice
W. - F. L. Wellman
C. - E. Green
O.G. - R. P. Oliver
I.G. - H. Gilster
R.S. to N.G. - Warren Cassidy
L.S. to N.G. - P. W. McClelland
R.S. to V.G. - J. Hicks
L.S. to V.G. - A. C. Norton
R.S.S. - F. Howard
L.S.S. - H. Downing
~Elkader Register, Friday, July 20, 1883. Monona Mites column.



Monona Yeoman
The following officers were installed in the Yeoman Homestead last Monday evening:
Foreman - J. H. McGoon
Master Cerem's - C. E. Sebastian
Master Accounts - E. R. Otis
Correspondent - J. A. Maiers
Chaplain - Mrs. J. H. McGoon
Lady Rowena - Mrs. Brownson
Lady Rebecca - Mrs. Sebastian
Overseer - Dr. Humphrey
Watchman - Nelson Beeler
Sentinel - C. E. Norton
Guard - Rudolph Schroeder
The Field Manager, Wm. Hazen, was present, acting as installing officer.
~Elkader Register, Thursday, February 8, 1906. Monona column

Monona Royal Neighbors
At the installation of the Golden Rule Camp No. 973, R.N.A., on Jan. 25th, the following officers were installed:
Oracle - Mrs. Ella Beutel
Vice Oracle - Mrs. Jennie Redeman
Chancellor - Mrs. Mary Friedlein
Recorder - Mrs. Ella Litchfield
Receiver - Lillie Zugenbuehler
Marshal - Mrs. Cara Friedlein
Inner Sentinel - Mrs. B. Friedlein
Outer Sentinel - Mrs. Emma Kahle.
Physician - Dr. C. W. Duffin
Manager - Mrs. Hattie Cords

The Graces were appointed as follows:
Faith - Mrs. Emma Jenkins
Modesty - Mrs. Frances Lorenz
Unselfishness - Mrs. Celia Greenly
Endurance - Ida Dubbels.
Courage - Mrs. Minnie Schutte
~Elkader Register, Thursday, February 8, 1906. Monona column

Monona Modern Workmen
At the installation of New Leaf Camp, No. 537, M.W.A., on Jan. 25th, the following officers were installed:
Consul - John P. Stoeffler, Jr.
Advisor - Carl Ihm
Banker - E. J. Wolford
Clerk - Chas. E. Scholz
Escort - L. H. Beerman
Physician - C. W. Duffin
Watchman - John Brock
Sentry - O. E. Gray
Manager - Wm. Redeman
~Elkader Register, Thursday, February 8, 1906. Monona column



Northern Light lodge No. 156, I.O.O.F., installed the following officers for the term beginning Jan. 1st, and ending June 30, 1908:
N.G. - W. J. Hazlett
V.G. - C. G. Owen
Secy. - W. _. Thornton
Treas. - P. Grube
R.S. to N.G. - W. H. Russell
L.S. to N.G. - H. Burnham
Warden - E. Oliver
Cond. - E. L. Rice
R.S. to V.G. - C. Sebastion
L.S. to V.G. - L. Thompson
I.G. - I. Cunningham
O.G. - C. Witt
R.S.S. - J. Moyer
L.S.S. - _. Davis
Chap. - H. Heman
~Elkader Register & Argus, Thur., 30 Jan. 1908 (Monona column)



Order of the Eastern Star
At the regular meeting of the Monona Chapter, No. 256, O.E.S., held last Friday evening, the following officers were elected for the ensuing year:
W.M. - Mrs. Brownson
W.P. - J. D. Brownson
A.M. - Mrs. Nelings
Secretary - H. S. Rittenhouse
Treasurer - Ella M. Rice
Conductor - Mrs. G. L. Gilbert
~Elkader Register & Argus, Thur., 24 Dec. 1908. Monona Column



Monona Monday Thimble Club
The Monday Thimble Club met at Mrs. R. G. Kinsley's and the following officers were elected for the year:
President - Amanda Renshaw
Vice President - Jean Orr
Sec'y - Maud Thomas
Treasurer - Minnie Sebastian
Cutting Committee - Addie Egbert, Carrie Montgomery, Viola Owen, Lou Walch
~Elkader Register & Argus, Thur., 13 Apr. 1911. Monona column



Luana Fire Department
Luana: At the annual firemen's meeting, held Monday, May 6th, the following officers were elected:
Chief - Arthur H. Berg
Assistant Chief - Emil DeSotel
Secretary - Orval Radach
Treasurer - Donald Overbeck
~Clayton County Register, Thur., 16 May 1935


Return to Clayton co. Directory & Gazetteer index