IAGenWeb Project - Clayton co.
updated 12/18/2017

Clayton County Agricultural Organizations
- includes the Bee-Keepers, Farmers' Club, Farmers' Institute & Farmers' Co-Op's -

various years

Unless otherwise credited, the information was contributed by Reid R. Johnson


At the annual meeting of the Clayton County Agricultural Society, held at Morgan's Hotel, National, last Saturday, the following named officers for 1884, were elected:

President - James McGuire, Clayton.
Vice President - A. H. Oelke, Garnavillo.
Secretary - Norman Hamilton, National.
Treasurer - J. F. W. Kaiser, National.

The Board of Directors is as follows:

F. W. Stickfort, Garnavillo.
Franz Hedrick, Gem
Peter Farley, Giard
Henry Brandt, Garnavillo
W. F. Warner, Luana
Samuel Bennington, Volga City
John E. Corlett, Farmersburg
James Uriell, Read
J. E. Branch, Elkader
H. W. Turner, Wagner
T. Pohlman, McGregor
John Wirkler, National.
Freeman Bronson, National

The report of the treasurer shows a balance on hand for next year of about $100.00. The proposed amendment to the constitution was unanimously adopted. A meeting of the board of directors is to be held at the same place on December 22nd, 1883, at ten o'clock a.m., to prepare premium list and establish time for holding fair in 1884.

~Elkader Register, Fri., 30 Nov. 1883



Farmers Club and Farmers' Institute

J.D. Maurer, of Garnavillo, was in town last Saturday, attending a meeting of the executive committee of the Farmers Institute.

Garnavillo - Our Farmers' club met in regular session at Turner hall on Sunday. The meeting was well attended and several new members were taken in.

The Clayton Co. Farmers Institue will meet at Turner hall, Garnavillo, on Monday, April 2. There will be two sessions beginning at 10:00 a.m. and at 1:00 p.m. The following is the program:
Music - Garnavillo Band
Address of Welcome - J.O. Crosby
Grasses adapted to pastures and meadows of Clayton county - J.O. Crosby
Winter Dairying - M. Garber
Corn for grain and fodder - Frank Schoulte
Farm Garden - O.A. Kenyon
Shall we raise sheep and what breed? - S. Bennington
How shall we insure our farm buildings and stock? - J.E. Corlett
How shall we increase the usefulness of our Agricultural Society? - J.D. Maurer
How shall we feed our swine? - J.J. Niell

The executive committee will then present a scheme for permanent organization. The farmers of Clayton county may expect a pleasant and profitable session, and the people of Garnavillo will tender to all a hearty welcome.

~Elkader Weekly Register, Thurs., March 29, 1888 ~contributed by S. Ferrall



The Clayton County Agricultural Society had a very enthusiastic meeting at National, Saturday. Financially the society is in a healthy condition. The following officers were Elected:

Pres. - Jos. Matt, St. Olaf
Vice Pres. - Henry Schlake, Garnavillo
Secretary - Henry Luehsen, Garnavillo
Treas. - H. C. Howe, Monona

Directors - Henry Brandt, Garnavillo; Henry Dettmer, Garnavillo; John Sabban, Farmersburg; Henry Gerloff, McGregor; Herman Koth, Monona; August Pufahl, Luana; Herman Scholz, Guttenberg; F. L. Williams, Postville; Henry Diers, Read; Will Kramer, McGregor; A. Huebsch, McGregor; Henry Buckman, St. Olaf; Theo. Hartwick, Giard.

The next meeting of the board of directors will be at Morgan's Hotel, Friday Dec. 18th.

~Elkader Register, Thur., 3 Dec. 1903



At a recent meeting of the Clayton Co. Agricultural Society held at National the following officers were elected for the ensuing year:

Pres. - Jos. Matt, St. Olaf
Vice Pres. - C. W. Meier, National
Sec. - H. Luehsen, Garnavillo
Treas. - H. C. Howe, Monona

Directors - Henry Gerloff, Farmersburg; J. Sabbann, Farmersburg; Gus Pufahl, Luana; Henry Buckman, St. Olaf; C. W. Walker, McGregor; Fred Williams, Postville; J. G. Reidel, McGregor; Herman Koth, Monona; H. Brandt, Garnavillo; Henry Diers, St. Olaf; H. Dettmer, Garnavillo; H. G. Jenkins, Guttenberg; William Koth, Farmersburg.

~Elkader Register, Thur., 29 Nov. 1906



Monona Farmers Co-Op officers

Monona: The annual meeting of the stockholders of the Farmers Co-operative Commission company was held Saturday afternoon in the city hall. Reports were given which showed the company to be in good condition. Officers elected for the ensuing year are:

President - Arthur F. Kaiser
Vice President - Joe Tayek
Secretary - Wendell Baskerville
Treasurer - Frank L. Jarms

Patrick J. Ryan and Rudolph A. Garms were elected directors to succeed themselves and Edwin J. Kliefoth succeeds George L. Bruns. Other directors are Harold C. Klinkel, Alvin Marting, Elmer Wiethorn, John A. Lenth, Walter W. Kaiser, and Alfred E. Ferguson.

~Clayton County Register, Thur., 14 Feb. 1935. Monona column.

Bee-Keepers Association

At a meeting held Friday evening, Sept. 27th, at the Farm Bureau office, Elkader, a group of the county bee-keepers of this county met and perfected a county organization known as the Clayton County Bee-Keepers Association.

Officers elected were:
President - Wilbert Harnack of McGregor
Vice-President - Amel Weller of McGregor
Secretary/Treasurer - Reuben David of Monona

Executive Committee - Wilbert Harnack, Amel Weller, Jack Miller and Ben Schultz, of McGregor. Reuben David, of Monona, was elected to serve and transact any business of the association.

~Clayton County Register, Thur., 3 Oct. 1935. Condensed from a larger article.


Return to Clayton co. Directory & Gazetteer index