Clarke County and the Civil War

Osceola during the Civil War Years


From The Union Sentinel (Osceola, Iowa), Saturday, July 11, 1863:

The Oceola Union Guards

Below will be found the names of both officers and privates of this company, as organized Saturday, June the 27th at the Court House in this place. The offices not mentioned have not yet been filled or had not when I last saw the Captain.

The camp is a good one and if necessity requires will do much good.

Capt. S. P. Glenn

1st Lt. F. W. Johnson

2nd Lt. M.L. Prine

1st Sgt. B. Woolman

2nd Sgt. James Hall

3rd Sgt. W.N. Barnard

4th Sgt. F.C. Rowland

6th Sgt. Isaac Burt

 Arnold, Benjamin Alexander, W.H. Adams, James F. Brown, S.P.
Baily, Clark Bare, David Bare, John Brown, Adolphus Z.
 Brown, Benj. F. Bennum, John W. Clancey, J.F. Cox, Israel
Cummins, Wm. L. Cline, J.B. Campbell, J.J.M. Crabtree, James F.
Detrick, Joseph H. Detrick, M.D. Davidson, B.O. Denny, David B.
Detrick, Balster Dixon, Gilbert Erwin, D.M. Fowler, Philip L.
Farley, Andrew F. Gardner, Wm. H. Harper, John M. Harper, Reuben J.
Harlan, J.B. Harlan, Aaron Henderson, James G. Henderson, Wm. E.
Harlan, Silas Hickman, John D. Hutchinson, Isaac Hickman, A.J.
Harlan, Noah Hunt, F.H. Hedges, Albert Jenkins, James
 Johnson, Wm. B.  Kerby, E. Kerby, J.H. Knotts, Jeddiah
Knotts, Elijah W. Kirby, John Kirby, Joshua Kerby, Henry
Ledgerwood, E.M. Lane, J.B. Morehead, Wm. Millner, Daniel
Overton, Hiram Polly, John Purvis, Moses Polly, Isaac A.
Parish, W.M. Polly, James Jr. Polly, J. Polly, William
Roberts, George Rich, Robert Richards, James Stacy, S.H.
Spray, John C. Sayre, David Sadoris, Henry Spray, Aquilla H.
Smith, Mahlon Terhune, James W. Turner, James W. Thompson, C.W.
Warthan, Wm A. Wescoat, Cyrus K. Welch, Samuel S(?) Williams, Thos.
Winkler, F.G. Winkler, J.P. Wily, James Wilson, Oliver B.
Williams, John      

According to Clarke County Historical & Biographical Record, this unit lead by Samuel P. Glenn became Company F, Sixth Infantry. Additional members of the unit who were listed in this book include:

1st Lt. - Calvin Minton

2nd Lt. - John T. Grimes

Sgt - Abraham C. Rarick

Sgt - Elihu Gardner

Sgt - Edwin R. Kennedy

Sgt - Jerry Rhodes


Return to Civil War Page