Ancient Free and Accepted Masons


The general lodge information is:

No. 77, Osceola Lodge

Osceola, Clarke County, IA

Stated Meetings: Tuesday on or before Full Moon

Grand Lodge Dues, $43.70

Dispensation granted July 12, 1855

Chartered June 4th, 1856

Number of current members: 31

Name Notes:
Brown, James 1855-56 officer: Worshipful Master; elected in 1856-57 officer; an original founder of Osceola Lodge
Sherrick, L.M.D.  [Sherick] 1855-56 officer: Senior Warden; elected in 1856-57 officer; an original founder of Osceola Lodge
Beckett, Robert 1855-56 officer: Junior Warden; elected in 1856-57 officer; an original founder of Osceola Lodge
Dodd, G.P. 1855-56 officer: Treasurer
Lamson, M.R. 1855-56 officer: Secretary
Parrott, R.B. 1855-56 officer: Senior Deacon
Lamson, E.G. 1855-56 officer: Junior Deacon
Courter, E. 1855-56 officer: Tyler
Barnhill, David master mason
Bertlett, Jerome master mason
Buckingham, Esau master mason
Chambers, Jos master mason
Coulter, D.M. fellow craft
Davis, Wm. B. master mason
Fitzgerald, Abner master mason
Gardner, Jas E. master mason
Glass, William entered apprentice
Goss, P.J. master mason
Keeran, Thomas master mason
Keevis, John master mason
Miller, Thos master mason
Mussulman, Noah entered apprentice
Noxon, A.M. master mason
Nunn, Jos. B. master mason
Orr, John entered apprentice
Osmond, Wm. R. master mason
Ridgway, N.M. master mason
Ridgway, Wm. H. master mason
Scovill, D.W. master mason
Sherer, John master mason
Starnes, P.S. fellow craft
Thomas, Cain master mason
Thompson, Jas master mason
Vanhouton, P. master mason
Warfel, Isaac H. master mason
Webster, Dickinson JR master mason


Extracted from:

Proceedings of the Grand Lodge of Iowa at the Thirteenth Grand Annual Communication, Held in the City of Oskaloosa on Tuesday, June 2D, A.D. 1856, A.L. 5856; T.S. Parvin, Muscatine, Grand Secretary; Printed by Raymond, Foote & Eystra, Faust Printing House, 1856.


Notes: -Masonic lodges have three separate degrees or ceremonies: Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason, given in that order. -A lodge is a group of Masons, meeting in a specific location at regularly scheduled times. Many lodges meet in a building called the Masonic Hall. The state Grand Lodge grants charters (permissions) to the Subordinate Lodges within that state. The subordinate lodges then operate under the bylaws and regulations of the Grand Lodge. -The officers of a lodge are the Worshipful Master (presiding officer), Senior and Junior Wardens, Treasurer, Secretary, Senior and Junior Deacons, Senior and Junior Stewards, and Tiler (Tyler). The first five officers are elected and installed annually; the WM appoints the other officers each year. -The WM generally serves for one year and then is called a Past Master, although as a PM are equal in status to ordinary members.


Thanks to Sharyl Ferrall, County Coordinator, Allamakee, Clayton, Winnebago Counties and Ass't CC, Dubuque County for sharing this information.

Last Revised September 2, 2010