Another IAGenWeb Project


Nashua Reporter
8 April 1936
Finds Folder Published by
Congregational Church in 1896

A copy of an old folder, published by the Nashua Congregational Church in 1896, was found in the Mrs. G. E. Scoles house by the Harry Brown family, who recently moved there.
The folder, called "Our Welcome," was apparently one of a series of such publications being designated as volume 1, number 19. On page one are cuts showing the old church and parsonage, together with a list of church officers, which contains many names which will be familiar to our older readers.

Rev. Henry C. Scotford was pastor of the church at that time. Aaron Dodge was permanent deacon; M. L. Woodbridge and O. B. Sutherland, acting deacons; D. Bate and B. J. Towne, newly elected deacons; H. A. Richardson, W. A. Eastman and W. F. St. Clair, trustees; W. F. Getsch, clerk and treasurer; J. C. Stocks, benevolent treasurer; Miss Grace Bently, organist.

Announcement of the Christian Endeavor meeting gives the name of Miss Orpha Hunt as leader.

Sunday school officers were as follows: Superintendent, J. Manley Heald; asst. supt., Dyer F. Hall; secretary and treasurer, Sadie Waite; asst. secretary and treasurer, Victor Sutherland; libarian, J. C. Stocks; organist, Beatrice Weller.

First Nashua Company United Boys' Brigades of America-Civil officers: president, W. F. Getsch; vice president, N. L. Compton; secretary, Lawrence Quaife; treasurer, James Arnott; Com. officers captain, H. C. Scott; first Lieutenant, Edward E. Arnott; 2nd lieutenant, Baker Faville. Non-Commissioned officers; first sergeant, Frank Mouse; second sergeant, Spencer Faville; third sergeant, Lawrence Quaife; fourth sergeant, Harry Farr; fifth sergeant, James Arnott. Corporals; Vinton Eastman, Chas. Ferguson, Earl Sutherland, Walter Quaife.
Young People's Guild-President, Mamie Weller; vice president, Elmer J. Wells; secretary, Edward E. Arnott; treasurer, Teela Paschke.

Junior Endeavor Society-Superintendent, Mrs. S. Tupper; president, Raymond Eastman; vice president, Edna Knight; secretary, Louie Turnbull; treasurer, Clio Laird.

Ladies' Society-President, Mrs. Martha Arnott; vice president, Mrs. Carrie Currier; secretary, Mrs. Clara Howard; treasurer, Mrs. Effie Scoles.

Christian Endeavor Society-President, Fred S. Grawe; vice president, Baker Faville; secretary, Nina Young; treasurer, Vinton Eastman.

Contributed by Claudia Groh, Transcribed by Mike Peterson