Home > History Home > 1877 History
History - Townships

"MISCELLANEOUS" - Township History

From "Miscellaneous," History of Cass County, Iowa Together With Brief Mention of Old Settlers
by Lafe Young, Atlantic, Iowa:  Telegraph Steam Printing House, 1877, pg. 69-70.

  Adair and Audubon counties were detached from Cass in 1852 and after that date and up to the year 1857 Cass county had but four civil townships, namely:  Cass, Pymosa, Turkey Grove and Enda.  In 1857, Lura township was organized, including what it now Grant and also other territory.  As to how the townships were constituted when there were but seven, the reader is referred to the statistical table for the year 1869, to be found in this work.

  Upon petition of Thomas MEREDITH and others, the township of Brighton was founded March 15th, 1858, containing all of township 77, range 37, and sections 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 16, 17 and 18, in township 76, Range 37.  A warrant was issued to Mr. MEREDITH for holding of the first election, to be held at the residence of Samuel K. SHIELDS, in said township, April 5th, 1858, for the selection of township officers.  Mr. MEREDITH, being an Englishman, wanted to call the new township Britain, but Judge LORAH ( probably recollecting that old tea trouble ) objected, and as a compromise, the name of Brighton was adopted.

  On petition of Peter HEDGES and others, the township of Breckenridge was ordered to be organized at the August session of the county court, in 2858, and authority was granted to Franklin H. WHITNEY to hold the first election at the house of Peter HEDGES on the second Tuesday of October, 1858.  Breckenridge township embraced what is now Union and Messena, and a portion of other townships adjoining.  The county now consists of sixteen townships, the Congressional and civil townships exactly corresponding in size and number, and no further change will likely ever be made.

Transcribed for Cass County by Brenda Magee, November 2009.

Site Terms, Conditions & Disclaimer
Home > Top