[ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

Century Farms 1976


Posted By: Lydia Lucas - Volunteer (email)
Date: 1/7/2017 at 15:11:59

From the Sioux County Capital, May 11, 1976:

20 Century Farms in County

Twenty Sioux County farms will receive the Century Farm designation during 1976, signifying that the farm has been in the same family for al least 100 years.

The oldest county farm to receive the designation will be Theodore J. and Kathryn V. Ney of Route 1, Granville. Their farm came into the family in 1862.

Two farms have Orange City addresses--one owned by Irwin, Arloa and Della Muilenburg and one owned by Koenraad M. and Julius E. De Jong. Both are Route 2, Orange City.

A county recognition program will be held later his year to present a certificate and farm marker to the owners of Century arms. No date has been set. The farm certificate will be presented by the Iowa Department of Agriculture. The Iowa Farm Bureau is presenting the farm marker.

Application deadline was Dec. 31 for Century designation. To qualify, the farm must have been owned by the same family for at least 100 years by July 4, 1976. The farm must also contain at least 80 acres of the original farm and the present owner must be related to the original owner.

Here is the list of Sioux County Century Farms and the year they came into the family:
Mable S. Brewster and Virginia Brewster Miller, Route 1, Sheldon, 1871.
Dr. George M. and Patricia Damon, Route 1, Sheldon, 1884[i.e., 1874].
Robert J. DeBoer, rural Alton, 1874.
Koenraad M. and Julius E. De Jong, Route 2, Orange City, 1872.
Mrs. Roger Den Herder, rural Sioux Center, 1871.
Norbert M. Hansen, rural Alton, 1870.
Mr. and Mrs. John Koster, Hospers, 1872.
James M. McNally, Ireton, 1872.
Margaret Morris, Route 1, Sheldon, 1871.
Irwin, Arloa and Della Muilenburg, Route 2, Orange City, 1874.
E. P. Murray, rural Boyden, 1874.
Theodore J. and Kathryn V. Ney, Route 1, Granville, 1862.
Beatrice Ramhorst, Route 2, Ireton, 1873.
Richard Rosgaard, Fairview, S.D., 1876.
Eleanore L. Ross, Ireton, 1870.
Schut, Ellsworth, rural Sioux Center, 1872.
Merlin Thies, Route 2, Hospers, 1872.
Mrs. Carol Vander Pol, Route 1, Alton, 1875.
Albert L. Winter, Boyden, 1873.
Wallace C. and Lena M. Winter, Route 1, Boyden, 1871.

* * * * * * * * * *

A similar article, with the list of farms presented with certificates, was also published in the Sioux County Index, August 5, 1976. The awards were more briefly reported in several other area newspapers.

The Century Farm recognition program was sponsored by the Iowa Department of Ariculture and the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, and endorsed by the Iowa American Bicentennial Commission The Sioux County award ceremony was held August 3, 1976 at the Sioux County Fairgrounds.


Sioux Documents maintained by Linda Ziemann.
WebBBS 4.33 Genealogy Modification Package by WebJourneymen

[ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]