[ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

Half Century of Sheriffs


Posted By: Theresa Schnurr Tapper (email)
Date: 7/16/2010 at 12:49:31

Newspaper clipping undated, no source, circa 1938

Challenge to the World
Brown to Murray
Nearly Half Century
Sheriffs Dine Here

Photo [not included] caption: Sheriffs of Chickasaw county, Iowa, all alive. Total weight, 2065 pounds. Average weight, 230 pounds. Average age, 63. Ages range from 39 to 77. They are, front row sitting, left to right:
Frank Sherwood
Albert Russell
Ed Murphy
George Murray
F. W. Brown
John Tietjen
Back row standing, left to right:
C. A. Upham and John Wandro and seated, Charley Schnurr.

Here is a challnge to all the world to show nine good and fit men, who have served their county in succeeding terms of office over a period of nearly a half century. These were all Sheriffs of Chickasaw County who have an average service of more than four and a half years. Not only that, but they challenge the world to show nine men of an aggregate weight of 2065 pounds and an average of 240 pounds and average 63 years of age.

Look them over and you will see the pride their home folks have in pointing to them.

In this half century, not shown in the picture, we mention Fred Kazar, elected from Nashua and who served from January 1, 1915 to January 1, 1919. He passed away a number of years ago.

And we mention Ed Attleson, who served form January 1, 1925, to August 2, 1926, and who now lives at Anoka, Minnesota.

It was January 1, 1890, more than 48 years ago, that F. W. Brown came here from Ionia and gave the best four years of his life to the office of Sheriff.

He was succeeded by Ed Murphy of Lawler for four years, and then came Frank Sherwood also of Lawler to take the position for four years.

These men were followed by Charley Schnurr of New Hampton for a five year term, and while so serving was President of the Sheriff's Association of Iowa.

Then came genial John Wandro of Fredericksburg for a four year period.

Next in line was Albert Russell of Lawler who also gave four years of good time to this important office.

Fred Kezar of Nashua, now deceased, followed next with four years. He was succeeded by big John Tietjen of Alta Vista for six years, breaking from the old two term and out rule. He turned the office over to E. E. Attleson of New Hampton, who served but a little over a year and a half.

Next in line came C. A. Upham, who served out the balance of his predecessor's term and four years to which he was elected.

George Murray of Lawler came in to office January 31, 1931, and has been elected four times. He is the popular "Dewey" today.

Last Sunday was a gala day for the above nine men in this picture. They met in the County Sheriff's office in the forenoon and after a good fellowship visit went to the Lutz Studio where the above picture was taken. Then they went to Donnelly's Cafe where a big chicken dinner was served to these big, young fellows.

Soon afterward, their active young lives, ranging from 39 to 77, took them away to other duties and they adjourned, hoping they may meet again next year.

We congratulate the nine big men and we challenge the world to produce a record so good.

It may be of interest to you to know that of these eleven sheriffs of Chickasaw County, eight of them are Democrats: Brown, Murphy, Sherwood, Wandro, Kezar, Russle, Attleson and Upham.

Three are Republicans, Schnurr, Tietjen and Murray.


Chickasaw Documents maintained by Bruce Kuennen.
WebBBS 4.33 Genealogy Modification Package by WebJourneymen

[ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]