Allamakee co. IAGenWeb Project - School Records

Allamakee co.
Rural Schools & Teachers

As late as 1963, there were still 19 one room rural schools in operation in Allamakee County, Iowa. That was down from 30 schools two years earlier, and there had been around 40 rural schools for many years.

The August 17, 1963 edition of the Waukon Democrat listed those 30 schools and their teachers:

Bergen: Violet Howes
Center No. 2: Dorothy Bratrud
Dorchester-Lower: Mildred Mohwinkle
Dorchester-Upper: Anna Sanness
Emmett: Martha Hanke
English Bench: Evelyn Wiemerslage
Franklin No. 3: Curtis Webster
French Creek No. 1: Alice O'Neill
French Creek No. 3: Carol Hanson
French Creek No. 6: Josephine Larson
Hanover No. 3: Margie Van Horn
Hanover No. 4: Beatrice Zoll
Hanson: Lester Pfister
Harmony: Marjorie Stockman
Helming: Frances Hinrichs
Howard: Carol Kiesau
Iowa River: Rita Liddiard
Jefferson No. 4: Frances Blake
Jefferson No. 7: Norma Fiet
Jefferson No. 8: Alice Holly
Ludlow No. 1: Marjorie Bigelow
Ludlow No. 2: Loretta Cassidy
Ludlow No. 3: Florence McDermott
Ludlow No. 4: Agnes Ellis
Ludlow No. 7: Marguerite Bray
Lycurgus: Mildred Trappe
Southwest: Mabel Palmer
Union Prairie No. 2: Eleanora Berns
Washington: Tina Rud
Wheatland: Ruth Freiberg

~source: WAUKON DEMOCRAT, November 20, 1986
~contributed by Connie Ellis, for Allamakee co. IAGenWeb


Return to School Index