Allamakee co. IAGenWeb Project - School Records

Reunion of Waukon High School
Class of 1936

Class Of 1936 Holds Reunion

The Waukon High School class of 1936 held their 40th year class reunion on Saturday evening, June 26, 1976, at the Waukon Golf and Country Club. The affair began with a cocktail hour at 5 p.m. and was followed by a steak dinner and dancing. There were 79 in the class. with 37 present with their guests. There are seven deceased members.

Those present were Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Ashbacher, Guttenberg, N.J.; John J. Burke, Whittier, Calif.; Wayne Forde, Tempe, Ariz.; Mr. and Mrs. Carlton (Irene Graham) Radloff, Mason City; Mr. and Mrs. Maurice (Lois Hager) Simmonds and Mrs. Frances Wellendorf, Lansing; Mr. and Mrs. James Markley. Franklin Park, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Francis Regan, Waterloo; Henry Siebert, Dorchester; Mrs. Marian Davis Winters, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Mr.and Mrs. James Houlihan, Harpers Ferry; Mr. and Ms. Ivor Thorsen, Detroit. Mich.; Mr. and Mrs. Tom (Jean Cowan) Clark, New Berlin, Wis.; Walter Knopf, Newton, Kansas; Mr. and Mrs. Mel (Palma Kolseth) Teslow, Forest City; Mr. and Mrs. Nate (Ruth Larson) Ellingson, Decorah; Mrs. Marie Miller Monthei, Altoona, Iowa; Mrs. Palma Quanrude Quandahl, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. and Mrs. R.E. (Ann Taylor) Browman, Covina, Calif.; Mrs. Marjorie Snitker Melaney, Rockford, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Curtin, Mr. and Mrs. Bob (Jeanne Dougherty) McDonald, (only two in the class to marry each other), Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Olive Herman) Dunning, Mrs. Florence Hexom Anderson, Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Kaeser, Mr. and Mrs. Eldo (Cora Sandbeck) Krumme, Mrs. Arlene Snitker Deeney, Mr. and Mrs. Paul (Jean Smith) Pufahl, Mr. and Mrs. Richard Snitker, Mr. and Mrs. Merle (Rachel Henry) Ruckdaschel, Willa Herman, Mr. and Mrs. James (LaVern O'Donnell) Plein, Mr. and Mrs. Donald (Alice Palmer) Hager, Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Anna Mae Whalen) Curtin, Mr. and Mrs. Emmett (Clara Soride) Winke, and Mr. and Mrs. Otto (Ardys Sunderman) Nolting, all of Waukon.
Former teachers present were Miss Cora Rueggenmeier, Miss Lois Grimm, and Miss Marie Olson.

Other guests were Mrs. Elsie Breitspecher, Mrs. Martha Hewill, Mrs. David Knopf, Michael Knopf, James Taylor, Mrs. Evelyn Lehman and Mrs. Mae Smith.

Wayne Forde was the emcee. Deceased members are Darrell Goede, Arleen Hanson, Clement Keenan, Armond Klees, William Long, Helma Johnson Nagel, and Jessie May Schneider.

The committee responsible for planning this delightful affair was as follows: Jeanne and Bob McDonald, Lois Hager Simmonds, Anna Mae Whalen Curtin, Alice Palmer Hager, Olive Herman Dunning, LaVern O'Donnell Plein, Jean Smith Pufahl and Willa Herman.  

Source: Allamakee Journal, Lansing, Iowa, July 7, 1976
Contributed by Errin Wilker

Return to School Index