IAGenWeb Project - Allamakee co. Misc. Historical Items

Allamakee Co. Officials


Proceedings of the Board of Supervisors
January 5, 1874


Whereas the term of office of Dr. T.H. Barnes has this day expired
Whereas, he has occupied the position of chairman of the Board for the three years last past
Wherefore, be it resolved that this Board tender to him their sincere thanks for the able manner in which he has discharged the duties of his office, and for his uniform, courteous and gentlemanly conduct in transacting official business with the public and his fellow members

T.C. Smith, elected chairman for 1874

Appointments & Official bonds approved:

Jno. Ryan, Treasurer
Jas Duffy, appointed Deputy Treasurer, salary $900/year
W.C. Thompson, Auditor, salary $1,700/year
Sam R. Thompson, appointed Deputy Auditor
Geo. Hewitt, Sheriff
H.O. Dayton, County Surveyor
Jno W. Hinchon, County Superintendent
W.D. Morgan, Coroner
Andrew Leppert, Collector
Patrick McLaughlin, Collector
J.G. Orr, Collector
Jno Ward, Collector
A.G. Oleson, Collector
W.J. Mitchell, Collector
E.C. Hall, Collector
Jno Donahoe, Collector & Twp. Clerk
H.B. Miner, Collector
Alex P. Dille, Collector
Jno Smeby, Collector
Chas Burnham, Collector
E.B. Jones, Collector
S.C. Hulse, Collector
Jas Erickson, Collector
Josiah Adams, Justice
N.J. Quandahl, Justice
Jas Griffin, Justice & Twp. Clerk
H.P. Dawes, Constable
Erick Molbery, Constable
Henry Plank, Constable
Thos Purcell, Constable
T.M. Bowen, Constable
Robt Angell, Constable
Jno Becker, Constable
Andrew Reeder, Constable
Jonas Swenson, Constable
Clark Howard, Constable
T.H. Symms, Constable
M.G. Wood, Constable & Twp. Clerk
Michael Gabbett, Twp. Clerk
Math Keley, Twp. Clerk

Other Board members mentioned in the proceedings:

Martin Moore, H.S. Cooper, Jno. Goodykoontz

~source: Postville Review, January 21, 1874
~transcribed by Sharyl Ferrall

Back to "Other History" index